My Word for 2017

My word for 2016 was “relish” (read about it at https://momto2cuddlebugs.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/my-word-for-2016/).  Relish was on my mind off and on during 2016 (and I am happy to report, not just when eating pickles).  But looking back, I didn’t particularly pause and do all that much relishing in 2016.  I think “achieve” would have been a more apt word.  Which, interestingly, was little N’s word for 2016.  It has been quite an eventful year, workwise.  In 2016, I became chair of the women environmental professionals group in NJ, passed my professional license exam (after whining about it a LOT here and elsewhere), and switched to a more challenging and, at the same time, very flexible job, which gives me great balance in my life.

But I think my biggest achievement in 2016 was figuring out (on my own) the cause of my chronic back pain, which has been going on since the end of 2013 (ugh!).  I will tell you about it quickly (even though little N warned me not to be one of those people who go on and on about health issues on their blog).  So anyway, just like that, out of the blue, woke up one morning thinking that perhaps my pain has to do with diet.  Googled it (of course), and landed on gluten as a possible culprit.  Long story short, I eliminated gluten from my diet for a couple of weeks.  And the pain was completely GONE!!  How cool is that?!  It’s been a couple of months now on this gluten-free journey.  Of course, I sometimes absolutely pine for my favorite gluten-filled foods (my precious chole bhatura, croissants, pancakes, aaaah!!).  But, cannot beat being pain free after so many years (especially, after resigning myself that old age aches have come calling early).  So, that’s my biggest achievement in 2016.

Ok, I am finally getting to the point.  My word for 2017.

“Fitness”

I am amazed at how long I had been going on with background pain just because no one thought to connect the dots to diet (especially the experts in the medical profession).  So, in 2017, I will focus on fitness and health for the family.  I will plan our meals better and in advance, and will reduce processed foods around the house (always a challenge).  I will keep exercise on my radar – a friend and I are signing up to start Jazzercise in January, and I will participate again in an annual walkathon in April.  Don’t know that I will run a marathon just yet (but perhaps I will surprise you, and myself). 😉

I am super psyched about my word for 2017, and hope I do better with it than I did in 2016 with “relish”, or in 2015 for that matter (my word for 2015 was “lighten up” – still waiting for that to happen!).

So, what’s your word for 2017? 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Word for 2017

  1. I think, in retrospect, “survive” was my word for 2016.
    2017: hmm….I would go with “survive” again, considering the decisions that need to be made in life !
    Good luck with fitness. I will make sure I keep nagging you about your fitness goals.

Leave a Reply

