Three Quote Challenge – Day 1

I am thrilled to be nominated by my close friend, L, to share three of my favorite quotes with you.  Thank you, L!  Check out L’s awesome blog at https://diptoeblog.wordpress.com/.

I love quotes.  You know I do.  I have written several posts (ahem!) reminding you to go click on my Favorites Quotes page.  Yet, with this challenge, the one that comes to mind is not something that’s already on my Favorite Quotes page.  It is certainly going in there soon!

I partially read this book “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy, while on vacation in Cape Cod in August 2013.  Pulled it off a bookshelf at the property we were staying at.  The book, set in a post-apocalyptic age, is the story of two characters – a man and his young son, and their journey over a period of several months after most of civilization has been decimated.  It was gripping, dark, and intense… just the sort you want to read on a relaxing beach vacation. 😉  Did not have time to finish it on vacation, and did not bother to look it up at our local library after we returned.  It was just too depressing (and frankly, somewhat terrifying) to actively seek out.  But one quote from this book (the man says this to his son), has stayed with me over the years.

“Just remember that the things you put into your head are there forever.  You might want to think about that.”

I was struck by how powerful this quote was when I read it the first time, and found myself re-reading it a few times.  It comes back to me in the oddest, most unexpected times.  Helps me keep it real, and not indulge in fantasies and wishful thinking, or on the flip side, wallow in anxious or negative thoughts.

So there you have it, quote 1 of 3.

I am supposed to nominate three other bloggers for the quote challenge, but turns out I regularly only read my friend L’s blog, and Maha’s blog, who L also nominated.  Che, what a narrow blog reading range I have!  But I am more of a book reader and podcast listener than a blog reader, so you are going to have to settle for just my favorite quotes.

Oh, wait a second!  Maybe, to compensate, I should post 3 + 3*3 = 12 quotes just for you?

No, thanks, three is more than enough, you say?

Ok then! 🙂

 

One thought on “Three Quote Challenge – Day 1

  1. 3+3^3 is good too, it will round it up to a month….just saying.
    Love the quote…it is uncannily true. Now that this thought is in my head, it is going to pop up at unexpected times to haunt me. Thank you very much ! 😉

Leave a Reply

