Let’s Play

It’s raining cats and dogs here today – flash flood warnings, the whole works (no power cut, though, for which I am infinitely thankful).  Had taken little N to the mall for some clothes shopping.  Our usual 15 minute drive back home took almost an hour.  Came home drenched, warmed up with two cups of masala chai that N made, and decided to whip up some onion pakodas.  When I was growing up, Amma used to start making bajjis or pakodas as soon as dark clouds gathered in the sky (those were the days, my friend!).

As I was deep frying, taste-testing (aaha, super-aa irukkae!!!), and thinking back to those good old pampered childhood days, I suddenly remembered a little game that my school friends and I played eight years back, when we were first re-discovering each other through Google groups.  Yes, my mind makes strange, and entirely unrelated connections.  Still.  I am a sucker for such games, so thought I would share it here. I could not find my responses from eight years ago, would have been fun to see how (and whether) I have changed much in the past eight years.  So, here goes, the questions and my answers:

Where is your cell phone?  Don’t know, don’t care

Where is your significant other?  In the family room, ironing out vacation plans

Your hair?  Transforming rapidly from hottie to patti 😉

Your mother?  At V’s place

Your father?  On my mind every day

Your favorite thing?  Awesome Indian restaurants (such a foodie, I know!)

Your dream last night?  Don’t remember

Your dream/goal?  Traveling for several months every year (mmmm… delicious!)

The room you are in?  My kitchen

Your fear?  Loss

Where do you want to be in six years?  Exactly where I am today (in my personal life, that is.  Obviously, at work, I would like to have advanced quite a bit, duh!)

Where were you last night?  P. F. Chang’s, Barnes & Noble

What you are not?  I am not a person that plays games (and I don’t mean the Monopoly kind)

Muffins?  Meh!

One of your wish list items?  Travel around the world for one whole summer

Where did you grow up?  In India; specifically, in Singaara Chennai

What are you wearing?  Which dog wants to know?

Your TV?  Always off

Your pet?  Does it have to be an animal?

Your computer?  Off (typing this from little N’s macbook)

Your life?  Sweet 🙂

Your mood?  Calm (which is not all that common, so pretty good, huh?)

Missing someone?  Appa, miss sharing so much with him

Your car?  MDX

Something you are not wearing?  None of your business

Your summer?  Busy so far, but fun times are within striking distance (yay!)

Love someone?  Love my lovely family!

Your favorite colors?  Red, black, and a bright, cheery yellow

When is the last time you laughed?  Today 🙂

Last time you cried?  June 25th (when I attended the memorial service for my bhajan teacher’s son, who passed away last year at 16 years of age)

Ok, now answer all these questions in the comments below, or in your own blog.

Can’t wait to see what you come up with! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Let’s Play

  1. Where is your cell phone? Dining table, I think. Or perhaps the kitchen.

    Where is your significant other? In front of me. Organising music in his computer

    Your hair? Rapidly disappearing

    Your mother? In my memories

    Your father? At home. Probably wishing he was here.

    Your favorite thing? Placid mind. Rare and precious.

    Your dream last night? Ugh. Too many. Something about missing a flight. Something about someone throwing up. Hormonally driven.

    Your dream/goal? Mastering Zen.

    The room you are in? Bedroom

    Your fear? Discord

    Where do you want to be in six years? Here. Both professionally and personally.

    Where were you last night? Home.

    What you are not? Spectacular. Noteworthy. Different. Non conformal.

    Muffins? Depends.

    One of your wish list items? Attending a vipassana retreat

    Where did you grow up? Chennai

    What are you wearing? A smile, among other things.

    Your TV? Don’t have one.

    Your pet? Vasundara

    Your computer? Mac Air.

    Your life? Fortunate

    Your mood? Contemplative

    Missing someone? No

    Your car? A-Star

    Something you are not wearing? Shoes

    Your summer? Over

    Love someone? Contemplating on love

    Your favorite colors? wine red, dark blue.

    When is the last time you laughed? 10 seconds back at dude’s joke on Brit.

    Last time you cried?
    With joy – this morning, at a Harry Potter event- seeing how many people are passionate about HP.
    Passionate people overwhelm me with joy. And yearning.
    In sorrow – at the crematorium on January 17th, sending my grandma into the furnace.

Leave a Reply

