Body Language

Sit up straight.” ~ Your Grandmother

I gave a presentation on body language today in the Philadelphia branch of my office. Had an amazing time!  We watched Amy Cuddy’s TED talk on the subject, which is apparently the second most viewed talk in all of TED’s history, and then I presented and facilitated discussion amongst the group that attended.  I didn’t know most of the folks that showed up, but oddly, that didn’t faze me at all (perhaps some of those body language lessons were rubbing off on me!).  Spent hours and hours at night over the past couple of weeks poring over the latest research on body language, hunting for quotes, pictures, and anecdotes (and didn’t mind all the extra work one bit).  I also moderated another talk earlier this week on career advice and financial metrics, and enjoyed that greatly as well.

Just so v. surprised at how much I am loving it all, this engagement with the social sciences.  After all, here I am, a practicing environmental engineer, with not one but three degrees in engineering, and yet I find myself immensely enjoying the study of social and behavioral sciences.  And, if I were totally honest, with a passion that I don’t often muster for engineering.  I mean, over the past several months, I have read (and re-read) Gretchen Rubin’s “The Happiness Project”, “Happier at Home”, and “Better than Before”, Brene Brown’s “Rising Strong” and “Daring Greatly”, Susan Cain’s “Quiet”, Chris Guillebeau’s “The Happiness of Pursuit”, Dan Harris’s “10% Happier”, and many others.  Totally love the social sciences!!  Wonder if I would have pursued a major in psychology or literature, if I didn’t grow up in India at a time when engineering and medicine were king (perhaps that is still the case?).  Idle contemplation (and mid-life crisis on some level), I know.  But, as I was telling N earlier (paraphrasing Kung Fu Panda), am I making noodle soup when I really should have become a dragon warrior?

Deep, no? 😉

2 thoughts on “Body Language

  1. I think we enjoy social science now more because of the lessons life has taught us over the years. I don’t think we would have thought this deep when in our late teens or early twenties.

Leave a Reply

