Double Digits

My little A turns 10 tomorrow.  Seems like yesterday that she arrived two weeks early, a little ahead of her due date of February 14 (my Valentine!).  I was telling little A the other day that ten is such a special birthday, that transition from single to double digits.  I mean, here I am several decades later, still stuck in the double digits (although, I am in no rush to see whether I do make it to triple digits).  So.  Tomorrow is a super special day around here.  We will celebrate with dinner at little A’s favorite restaurant, strawberry shortcake, presents, balloons, and lots of hugs!

Some days, little A still seems to me like the baby she was in preschool, a few short years ago.  On other days, she’s wiser than the Dalai Lama (read my “Touche” posts, you’ll know what I mean).  She’s my conscience, and she inspires me to be a better person.  I am constantly amazed by little A’s generosity towards her friends, and her caring nature.  I am also blown away by her focus, how she spends hours on activities that she loves (like art) perfecting every little detail, and yet somehow creates something that looks breezy and effortless.  Like this picture she drew a couple of weeks back.

886303_10207093627112631_6230015274967733241_o

Super, no?  Makes me really want to be the cozy cat in that dresser!

Happy birthday my little love bug!  May this be your best year ever! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Double Digits

  1. Oh my God, such a beautiful drawing. Can’t believe it’s drawn by a 9 year old…! lovely. Happy B’day to your little valentine.

Leave a Reply

