My Word for 2015

Don’t take yourself so seriously.  No one else does.

I recently started following Maha’s blog (https://activegander.wordpress.com/), and her post (My Word for 2015) rang a bell.  I am a huge fan of trying to capture the (intended) tone for the coming year in one pithy word.  Or one color to symbolize what’s to come (Yes, I am unstoppable – and insufferable – with the personal goals this time of the year).  I think it’s the Eat, Pray, Love syndrome – the concept of finding that one word that truly describes you.  In fact, I wrote about this a couple of years back (https://momto2cuddlebugs.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/eat-pray-love/).

So.  My word for 2015?  The first thought that comes to mind is “lighten up”.

Ok, that’s two words.  But it is something that I have to constantly remind myself of.  I tend to take myself (and my to do lists and obligations) v. seriously.  I can’t relax and have fun until I have finished every chore on my list (good luck with that!).  I have a great need to fulfill external expectations, but will put things off if it’s just fun stuff for me.  As you can imagine, this tendency towards the serious gets in the way of my happiness (and bugs the family quite a bit, I am sure, when I am in nag police mode).

So, my lofty goals for 2015 – lightening up, relaxing, love, and laughs!

How about you? What’s your word for 2015?

3 thoughts on “My Word for 2015

  1. I hopped over and saw your other post. I have read the book but have not watched the movie. Will catch up some time. I can relate to your word of the year – if there is one word that does not describe me – it is your two words “lighten up” – may be next year..!

  2. Pingback: My Word for 2016 | Momto2cuddlebugs

Leave a Reply

