Year in Review – 2014

2014 has been… eventful.  More health issues on our radar than ever before (something magical about crossing that four oh, huh?).  But it was also eventful in that I tried lots of new things this year, and found myself being more patient in general (although you should probably ask the family if that’s really true).  I think I have found that formerly elusive “pause” (don’t ask me what it is, hard to explain).

So.  Here’s my pithy take on 2014.

  • No weight gain or weight loss (and more importantly, don’t care!)
  • Sleepover in NYC (sooo fun, should really do this every summer)
  • Back pain (that persistent SOB!)
  • Italy (oh, the gelatos!)
  • Hired and fired cook (wonderful lady and yummy food, but all that eating is really unsustainable long-term)
  • Free from coffee since September 2014 (sounds soooo much better to say “free from” than “not drinking”, no?)
  • Learnt new paatus (thanks to my friend L, who sends me “just right” songs)
  • Tried out several new recipes (although not nearly as many as I had planned at the beginning of the year – 100 new recipes, what was I thinking??)
  • Forayed into the superfood world (chia, quinoa, flax, and soy are all standard fare now, and not bad tasting either)
  • Re-discovered neighboring towns (It’s amazing how much fun, touristy stuff you can do within a few miles of your own home!)
  • Eye injury (power kick from our 8-year old gymnast – alas, I was admiring her from verrrrry close proximity) but nothing that need surgery (give it time, and get on with your life – exact words from my unimpressed ophthalmologist)
  • Skiing and snowboarding for the first time ever!  Well.  The kids are going skiing and snowboarding in the Poconos next week.  We will curl up in the lodge with a steaming cuppa cocoa, and a nice chick flick (I hope!).
  • (Partial) inner peace.  Even in the middle of arguments, I am beginning to notice that I am not really that invested in the arguing.  Makes it easier to walk away (or make up).  Must be the (no) coffee!!

Two more work days in 2014, and then I am off for the rest of the year.  Love this time of the year!

2015 stretches out in front of us like a delightful blank sheet of paper waiting to be written upon.  I hope that it is brimming with love, laughs, health, peace, fun, friendship, and happiness.

Wishing you and yours a wonderful holiday season!

Leave a Reply

