The 41st Lesson

I told little N that I was going to write this post to mark my birthday.  That smarty pants quipped – Is that lesson “Don’t follow your daughter around on Instagram?”  Not at all, little N, not at all.  In fact, I plan to keep even closer tabs (if that’s possible).  So, watch out, my dear chicki. 😉

Quips aside, I have been thinking about what is it that I want to focus on this year, my 41st on Mother Earth (big yikes!!).  I wrote in May about finding the “me in Mommee”.  I have been giving this a lot more thought recently.  The kids are getting bigger and are growing more independent every day.  I don’t want to be one of those basket cases who has no idea what to do with herself when her kids are not around, but I actually come pretty close, I realize.  I also realized recently with all my mindfulness practices that I have a tough time delegating around the house (strangely, this is not a problem for me at the office!).  I happily go around completing one chore after another like the energizer bunny, until suddenly (and am not sure what that pressure point is), I look around and feel super resentful of anyone sitting and relaxing within my eye’s range, and start hollering at them to come help out.  Kinda see-sawing between a Mahatma and an ogre.  Verrrry pleasant, you think?  Me neither.

So.  Here it is.  My 41st lesson.

This year, I Choose Me.

I will accept help when it’s offered around the house – when N makes coffee, Amma makes lunch, or the kids unload the dishwasher – rather than say, “Oh, don’t worry, I got this.”

I will foster my children’s budding independence, and will land my parenting helicopter (or at least, put it on low gear, if that’s the right term).

I will focus more on what I want and like to do, and will find time to do that this year.  Come to think of it, what do I want and like to do, given the choice?  Hmmmm…. Figuring that out, of itself, is likely going to take all of September.

Looking forward to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

