Regretting No Regrets

I recently wrote about my experiment with learning “Kurai Onrum Illai” (https://momto2cuddlebugs.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/no-regrets/), and b*%ched about so-so lyrics.  While I did ultimately acknowledge the positivity in the composition, I was totally cavalier (and unfair) in comparing it to really sucky lyrics from present day hindi film song (v. ashamed in retrospect).

My friend, D (who was my original inspiration for learning this song) posted a comment, which disturbed me big time (no fault of yours, D).  I find what D said in her comment and the article she referenced humbling and inspiring.  I was blown away when I read it yesterday.  I found myself thinking about it again first thing this morning while making my tea.  So.  Decided to share them here – both D’s comment and the article she shared:

“I was visiting India in 2002 when I read this article. Prior to reading it, I was vaguely aware of the song (my attitude could be summed up as “another” very nice rendition by MSS), but nothing that resonated with me in any special way. After reading this piece, I couldn’t forget it…that Rajaji could compose it after undergoing so many immense personal losses (a single one of which would have been more than enough to render most of us bitter and angry) was eye-opening in many ways. I have listened to it over and over again since then (during happy and not-so-happy times), and I am not exaggerating when I say that it reinforces my faith (and a “stop whining and be content with what you’ve been given” feeling) every single time.”

http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/mag/2002/12/22/stories/2002122200220100.htm

Thanks for the perspective, D.  Much appreciated.

Ok.  With that out of my chest…

Feeling like a little less of an AH than I did yesterday. 😉

5 thoughts on “Regretting No Regrets

  1. I didn’t know the background either. Now I am pretty sure I won’t be able to hear it without crying right at the start.
    But, every time I heard (or sang) this song in the past, I always felt the immense sadness behind it. Perhaps this was why.
    Will I be able to ever say kurai onrum illai when faced with adversity? I wonder.

    • Yes, I felt the sadness in the song too, even the first time I heard it. Re. saying kurai onrum illai when faced with adversity, I am pretty sure I am not there yet. Doubtful if I will ever get there.

  2. Aaahh, Kavi, welcome to the ever-growing club of “I wrote something online that I regret!”. I am a card-carrying member of that club, based on many FB posts and emails. But I don’t think you have anything to feel bad about. Your original impressions covered both positive and negative aspects.
    As for being able to say “Kurai onrum illai”, I suspect (with good reason) that it is beyond me too. But that is why we have family and close friends, no? S and I made an agreement a long time ago: that I (or he) could put on a “ smack-you-on-the-side-of-the-head” hat and be very frank with him, when I think attitude adjustment is needed, and he cannot respond with anger/hurt/sarcasm/”you-would-do-it-too” etc. Any response from the other person has to involve lot of thinking and re-thinking. It has worked quite well over the years. Unspoken rule: use the hat VERY VERY sparingly….heeheee

Leave a Reply

