Happiness Quotes

I have always been a sucker for the written word.  Particularly quotes (short, to the point, and easy on my attention span).  When I was in undergrad (oh, those juvenile days!), I used to enjoy writing pithy little quotes on the blackboard.  None were particularly original, but nevertheless, I would sign them with a flourish – “KTU” for K the Ultimate (remember I already said juvenile days?).  Much later during my first few months on FB, when it was customary for me to share every passing thought with the world, I also used to share daily pearls of wisdom from Jack Handey (more juvenile days).  No doubts, this chick digs quotes.

If you have read some or all of the 160+ posts here (and shame on you, if you haven’t read them), you know that I am wannabe Zen Master.  Happiness is big on my list these days (shouldn’t it always have been?).

So, putting my two hands together, decided to do a post on my two favorite topics.  Adhaan “Happiness Quotes”.  Clever, no?  Plus, bonus – no actual creativity or thinking needed.  Just some pilfering from the internet, which is always fun.  For the record, not totally pilfering if I am actually citing the source, no?  Have come a long way from KTU days.  Just saying.

Anyway.  Without further (more) ado, here they are, my top ten happiness quotes:

“Happiness is nothing more than good health and a bad memory.” ~ Albert Schweitzer

“It’s a helluva start, being able to recognize what makes you happy.” ~ Lucille Ball

“Happiness is having a large, loving, caring, close-knit family in another city.” ~ George Burns

“The moments of happiness we enjoy take us by surprise.  It is not that we seize them, but that they seize us.” ~ Ashley Montagu

“A table, a chair, a bowl of fruit and a violin; what else does a man need to be happy?” ~ Albert Einstein

“Our envy always lasts longer than the happiness of those we envy.” ~ Heraclitus

“Most people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” ~ Abraham Lincoln

“The grass is always greener where you water it.” ~ Unknown

“Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” ~ Marthe Troly-Curtin

“It was only a sunny smile, and little it cost in the giving, but like morning light it scattered the night and made the day worth living.” ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald

Do you have a favorite happiness quote?  Do tell!

One thought on “Happiness Quotes

  1. Happiness is industrial strength acetaminophen.

    But that aside, lovely (and hilarious) quotes. I like George Burns’ in particular, but that could just be the chikungunia and pms speaking.

Leave a Reply

