Joy

While spring cleaning our family room a couple of weeks back, N stumbled on a bag full of old audio tapes (remember those?).  Pack rat that I am, I didn’t have the heart to throw them out.  Plus, while my blue car still pretends to run, it has no qualms about going into shutdown mode on non-essentials (like the CD player and air conditioning).  So, I have been driving around in silence or just playing and-replaying the same couple of audio tapes that I had lying around in the car.  And face it, both options can really grate on your nerves after a while.  So, finding that bag of tapes was big bonanza.

As I drove to work this morning, groped around in the bag and played the first tape that I laid my hands on (let the record show that other hand was firmly gripping steering wheel).  The first song that played – haven’t heard it in over 10 years, I am sure.  Was thrilled to re-discover it this morning.  No, I am not a KH fan (quite the opposite, actually).  And ARR has made far better music before and after this one.  Still, this song has always held a special attraction for me.  The visuals are delightful and the lyrics, simple yet moving.

En kaadhu varaikkum kambali porthum karunai aanandam.”  Was sold right there, methinks.

The song sure added smiles to this morning’s commute.  Watch it at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLWbdfXk-HU

2 thoughts on “Joy

  1. We found a sack full of cassettes in the dude’s ancestral home that we are currently vegetating at. No idea what to do with those since there is not a single tape player anywhere within the country, it sees.

Leave a Reply

