Weight Loss Woes

Reviewed my diet diary (with sparse entries here and there) and found that I have been asymptoting around my current weight for more than six months now.  What’s worse, I think I have reduced meal portions to the point where I am constantly hungry these days.  Ugh! Not a good thing – when you are on a diet, and break open your lunch box before 11 am every day.  Think I have to start doing what I have been threatening to for a while – add a 20 to 30 minute walk to my daily routine.  Well.  Will just wait till it gets a little warmer, let’s say in April.  My friend R and I are planning to start yoga lessons again in April as well.  Not that that’s going to do much for weight loss, but should be fun.  I’ve always enjoyed yoga, even though the friendly instructor has said things to me like “your mom seems more flexible than you”.  Soooo looking forward to it! 

The kids and I will be visiting V in June.  Since she’s the poster child these days for insanity workouts (I kid you not), I have additional motivation to lose weight before the trip and not be the obese one around (sibling rivalry is a great thing!).  I mean, been there done that.  When I went back home in May 1995 for the first time after I moved to Newfoundland, V was at the airport with my parents – all skinny and glowing.  While I, who had never cooked before I left home in September 1994 – and hence sustained myself on a steady diet of margarined toast, thachi mamu and potato roast (still remains my comfort combo), and liberal quantities of bunny hug (vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce and nuts) – got off the plane 30 lbs heavier than I am right now, looking and feeling pasty.  V and I are currently at the same weight, give or take a couple of lbs (both siblings wallowing in plateau, huh?).  She, however, says that she plans to lose another 10 lbs before the start of summer (what a cocky chic!).  So, in the interest of one-upping the sibling (now, who can miss a chance for that?), I am ready to do 30 minute daily power walks, and switch to a high fiber, high protein, low carb diet (Hmmmm… is this the right combo? Better get that straight first.).  And hope that it suffices to match or better V’s 10 lb weight loss target. 

Wish me luck!

One thought on “Weight Loss Woes

Leave a Reply

