What Makes You Happy?

“Happiness paalukku aaam engiradhu.” (Jingle from an ad for a children’s drink – from when I was growing up.)

Spent a couple of delicious hours on a cold and rainy sunday evening at B&N.  Saw this cute book called “14,000 things to be happy about” by Barbara Ann Kipfer.  Only saw this book on our way out, just as the black bean soup and Mediterranean veggie sandwich from Panera Bread across the street were already calling my name.  So didn’t linger, and merely got to skim through the book.  This little book celebrates all the little things that make life worth living. What a wonderful idea – just like the Good Things Jar – but in a way, even easier, right? 

So, started my list here, I hope you add lots of happiness of your own in the comments below! 

  • Chole Bhatura (Hmmm… what does it say about me that CB’s on top of my list?)
  • Watching the sun rise from my favorite window in my family room
  • Add a cup of piping hot masala chai to the early morning sunrise watching
  • Add N’s company too 🙂
  • The kindness of strangers
  • Vacation!
  • Mangoes
  • Sleepy little babies distractedly chomping on their hands
  • Good hair days
  • Reading Erich Segal
  • Potluck dinners with friends
  • Snuggling in on sunday mornings (till a laaaate 7 am)
  • Ethiopian food
  • Watching my girls hold serious conversations with each other, totally unaware of the high cute factor
  • Plush blankets
  • Potato curry
  • Fireworks on Deepavali
  • Rain
  • My family’s good health and good spirits
  • Snow (Sorry, after all these years, still not a winter person)
  • Friends that care
  • Coffee
  • When the girls say their “Sree Iswarooacha” at night without my asking them to
  • Pulikachal
  • My writing
  • Little A’s art work
  • When I see my kids being caring and kind
  • My work (For all the nonchalance with which I treat it, I LOVE what I do)
  • Boating (preferably when N is doing all the rowing)
  • Jalapeno and cheddar cheese bagel with jalapeno cream cheese
  • Hariharan’s voice
  • Watching movies with N
  • A long, hot shower on weekends
  • Little N’s baked yummies
  • Electricity (especially after three days of Sandy-induced power cut)
  • Reading Jane Austen
  • Going to yoga classes with Amma
  • Bharatanatyam
  • Long forgotten songs from my childhood that somehow suddenly get back on my radar
  • A. R. Rahman (for the most part)
  • Playing board games with the family
  • Laughing with V on the phone
  • The Beach
  • Pattani sundal at the beach
One thought on “What Makes You Happy?

  1. Oh! Pattani sundal…….you bring back memories girl! BTW, I do intend doing a pattani sundal stand aka lemonade stand on one of these boring Texan beaches someday! If only I figure out the equivalent of sundal……

    So, back to the list……
    Vishnu Sahasranamam by MS – first thing in the morn.
    My first cup of coffee
    When the writing comes out just the way I like
    Comments!! – Definitely 🙂
    Suprabhat and Shubhrathri – two times the baby bears hug and kiss to wish me. Its a SuperEnergizer!!
    More…..Later
    Got to hit the bed now !

Leave a Reply

