Diet Log (May 2012)

Not yet at the 10 lb weight loss that was the new year resolution, but surely getting there.  My friend, the scale, showed this morning that I am 6.4 lb lower than on January 4, 2012.  And get this — on NO PARTICULAR DIET OR EXERCISE REGIMEN!!  That’s the absolute fantastic part for me.  In fact, I think I am going the opposite way with yummy stuffed parathas, malai koftas, and paneer sabjis made by the twice-a-week cook (not N, by the way.  But, oohing and aahing over the newly-discovered cook is a different post).

All credit goes to (drum roll, please…): the diet diary (that’s maintained off and on – more off than on these days), which firmly steers me towards smaller portions.  Certainly seems to be doing the trick!

Hmmm… wonder what will happen if I actually start doing some 15 minutes of exercise per day?!! On second thoughts, just to be sure, should probably leave the (assume outdoor) exercising for post-allergy season (my mantra for success in life: never do anything now that you can do later).

Hope to hit the 10 lb mark before the India trip at the end of summer. If not, surely three weeks of sweating in Singaara Chennai ought to do it for me! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Diet Log (May 2012)

    • Hey Mads,

      I keep a simple excel worksheet, girl. These days, I fill it out if I remember and have time, but I was more religious about it when I started. For today, I wrote:

      Date: 05/03/2012
      Breakfast: Two and a half cups of coffee, two idlies with molagapodi
      Snack: One banana
      Lunch: Two methi rotis with alu gobi subzi, daal, and yogurt
      Snack: One cup of coffee, half a pack of peanuts
      Dinner: ?
      Weight: XXX.X lb (Classified info!!) 🙂

      That’s it. I don’t particularly avoid any foods. I just keep an eye on how the XXs are doing, and subconsciously, that impacts how much goes in at the next meal, I guess. I am liking my plan. I hope you do too! 🙂

  1. Madhs: Keep a log and write all that you eat in a day. Find out how many calories you need to consume/ day for say, like a 10 lb weight loss and write down the calories from each food you eat. There are websites that help you decide how much to eat and by what date you can expect to see the weight loss. As K said, smaller portions is the key. I started maintaining my calorie log since April (2012 🙂 ) and lost 7 lbs by May 1st. I of course avoid sweets and oil. Goal is to lose another 20 lbs before my Aug cruise 🙂

Leave a Reply

