Bucket List

“Chinna chinna aasai…”

An article that I was reading yesterday inspired me to come up with my bucket list.  What’s a bucket list, you ask?  Adhaan, things that you would like to do before you die.  Just put in a cutesy way.  Here’s mine, in no particular order.

  • Visit Europe.
  • Learn all the pancharatna kritis.
  • Watch Thyagaraja Aradhanai live (at least the Cleveland version).  Dare to join in the singing.
  • Visit Banff.
  • Visit New Zealand.
  • Visit Hawaii again.  Several more times.
  • Travel all over India.
  • Visit Africa.  Especially, go to Ethiopia and see if the injeras, atakilt wat and kik alicha are just as delicious there.
  • Oh, and go on a safari too.
  • Make sandwiches and cookies with the girls for the local soup kitchen at least once a month.
  • Establish an orphanage in Chennai.
  • Walk on the beach at dawn and dusk.
  • Participate in a walkathon each year to support cancer research and children’s welfare.
  • Do game night and movie night with friends at least once a month.
  • Snuggle in a hammock for hours with a good book.
  • Stand underneath a waterfall.
  • Make a scrapbook for a loved one.
  • Make a scrapbook of pictures from a memorable vacation trip.
  • Watch A. R. Rahman live in concert.
  • Ride a zipline through a forest.
  • See the northern lights.
  • Go on a cruise once to figure out if I like it (I am pretty sure I won’t, but hey, shock me!).
  • Take a road trip across the US with the family.
  • Learn photography (before V does). 😉

What’s on your list?

2 thoughts on “Bucket List

  1. You know what? I thought and thought, and realised that I don’t have a bucket list. I mean, yeah, ideally I’d like to finish up my responsibilities – make sure V has her wings, and that dude is all set – much against the “Indian” bhartiya nari thing, I’d rather that he embarks on his journey first so that at least I don’t have to worry about his needs- but other than that, I don’t think I have any thing I really want to do..of course I’ll probably do a lot of things before the big move, but those will come when they do !
    Is that a sign of complacency, I wonder…

  2. Melanie here! I enjoyed this piece, please email me–I have a question about your blog. MelanieLBowen[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

