Rage Gage

“People who fly into a rage always make a bad landing”. ~ Will Rogers

Twenty minutes after yelling at the two munchkins and packing them off to school without their daily hugs, I drove in to work with a clenched jaw and a pensive mood.  Even before the school bus had turned the corner, I found myself feeling quite ashamed of my tantrum.  By the time I arrived in my chill new office (yeah, I knew you’d remember that one!), I had built up the munchkins into woefully wronged cherubs.  I brooded that something’s got to change.  “Be the change you want to see in the world” came the annoying Gandhi-esque voice in my head.  You really need to stop reading quotes, I growled back at myself.  Unless they are by Jack Handey.

Later that morning, making an entry in my diet diary set off a light bulb in my head.  After all, the scale shows a 2 lb weight loss in the past three weeks with not much more effort than just keeping that diary! So, I started a mini anger diary:

Date Morning Evening
1/25/2012 😦 🙂
1/26/2012 🙂 🙂
1/27/2012 🙂 🙂
1/28/2012 🙂 🙂
1/29/2012 🙂 🙂
1/30/2012 🙂 ?

Not too shabby, huh? We’ll see how long this lasts.  But for now, I am enjoying the smiles.

3 thoughts on “Rage Gage

  1. I see you have been on your best behavior since the 25th 🙂 The last time I marked a TT ( Temper Tantrum) on my calendar was on the 17th of Jan!
    While I do believe that it’s important not to scream or fly into a rage that often, I give myself some allowances and actually don’t mark myself off when I get a TT. That is, ONLY when I can justify the TT to myself first !
    Be nice and kind to yourself too. Kids will forget what you say to them, but they will always remember how you made them feel! As long as a rage is accompanied by plenty of hugs and kisses and apologies ( if you are wrong), then that’s all that matters 🙂
    Kids need to understand that parents are not gods ( contrary to the Indian way of thinking) and that they can make mistakes too !!!!

  2. V and I had such a scoring system for us – +1 for every nice thing we did (including smile !) and -1 for every “bad” thing we did – frown, scowl, yell, snap etc. After a month of diligent note keeping, I saw my cumulative average was in negatives, and the kid’s was in three digits. For a while after that I persevered to bring my score to decent levels and was even successful. However, life intervened and we stopped the game. Needless to say, I must have an astronomical negative score now, had we kept track.

Leave a Reply

