How to lose 10 lb in 30 days?

No, I don’t have any pearls of wisdom for you.  I am asking you if you know how.  After making it one of my New Year’s resolutions, here’s what I have done so far:

(1) Start a diet diary.  This is a pretty good one.  The very thought of having to write “eight idlies and two vadais with thenga chutney and sambar” before the sun has had a chance to rise has kept me honest.

(2) Weigh myself every morning.  The scale shows I am 1.6 lb lighter than when I started out a couple of weeks back.  But, this is small enough to be within my old scale’s margin of error and likely not a statistically significant weight loss.

(3) Take the stairs up three floors at work instead of riding the elevator.  This worked really well for all of two weeks.  This is easy enough.  What happened, you ask? My workplace moved two floors down this week and I am now a mere 100 feet from the parking lot (give or take a few feet). So there goes that one.

(4) Pass on the 3 pm peanut snack. This has been a tough one for me. Especially since they keep refilling the snack box at work.

(5) Not eat kids’ leftovers.  Especially the yummy paruppu sadam concocted just for them by grandma with buckets of ghee.

What worked well for me in the past:

(1) Jazzercise. Did this for a couple of months last year and LOVED it! Don’t know why I never went back after the two month initial membership ran out. Well, I do know actually – the lazy butt wanted to stay parked.  And with temperatures in the 30s and 40s and the class being held at ungodly wee morning hours, who can blame the poor thing?

(2) Stress. I can lose weight in a snap when under stress.  But no thanks, I will pass on this one.

So there, you get the gist.  If you have some easy peasy painless weight loss tips that worked for you, do send them my way!

5 thoughts on “How to lose 10 lb in 30 days?

  1. I truly believe you can “think” your way to weight loss…..just keep thinking you can “float like a butterfly…” and you will find that scale warming up to you…as I say – its all in the mind

  2. Losing weight is not the big challenge. Just stop eating for a couple of days (somebody I know does that too) and you will immediately lose weight! The bigger issue is to keep it off. And, one thing that I read (based on a study from Mayo or Cleveland Clinic) was that small activities matter a lot for this. They were comparing people with similar eating and exercise habits; and wanted to answer why some of them are thin and some are fat (essentially the age-old observation of “I eat the same as X, but I gain wt and X does not”). Even something as simple as bending down and picking up something singinficantly increases your heart rate and burns some calories. Most people with desk-jobs are almost always sitting down and even minor activities like taking a walk to the printer, standing up while talking on the phone, shifting your body position while sitting etc. matter. These habits are typicaly in-built; but, if incorporated in your daily life, will result in less weight gain – at the min. – over time. BTW, even the so-called “restless leg syndrome” is good for weight loss :-).
    OK…way too long a comment – and slightly off-topic too!!! And, Nara’s answer was way more smarter :-).

Leave a Reply

